alexpgp: (Default)
Chrysler - or the government (it's hard to tell these days) - is eliminating about a quarter of Chrysler's dealerships around the country, according to an AP article I read at the Cybercast News Service.

What I particularly found interesting about the article - bylined by two Associated Press reporters - was the following information:
Chrysler LLC wants to eliminate roughly a quarter of its 3,200 U.S. dealerships by early next month [...]

Many of the dealers' sales are too low, the automaker said, with just over 50 percent of dealers accounting for about 90 percent of the company's U.S. sales.

[...]

More than half of the dealerships being eliminated sell less than 100 vehicles per year, they said, and account for 14 percent of U.S. sales.
Gee, let's do the math...
  1. Let's assume that "just over 50%" is actually 62.5%. Therefore, according to the article, (3200 x 0.625 =) 2000 dealerships account for 90% of sales.
  2. Assume that "more than half" really means 75%, so (800 x 0.75 =) 600 dealerships account for another 14% of sales.
Assuming the reporters were sober when they wrote this piece, and given the conservative assumptions above, this leaves about (3200 - 2600 =) 600 dealerships unaccounted for, whose net contribution to sales is apparently -4%.

If this is really the case, you'd figure Chrysler would want to keep those 600 dealerships who account for 14% and junk the 600 who contribute essentially nothing to the company's bottom line, right? What gives?

One could posit all sorts of other questions at this point, but such an exercise would in all likelihood be a waste of time, as I think it almost certain that the numbers in this "news" article are totally unreliable, the result of acute innumeracy on the part either of the AP flacks or Chrysler management (or both). This kind of sloppiness makes me wonder what else is wrong in the article and gives me the feeling I wasted my time reading it.

For example, did the company really say something as stupid as the following?
Chrysler said in its filing that dealers are not competitive enough with foreign brands. Chrysler sold an average of 303 vehicles per dealer in 2008, according to its filing. By contrast, Honda Motor Co. sold about 1,200 vehicles per dealer, while Toyota Motor Corp. sold nearly 1,300 per dealer. [emphasis mine]
I suppose one could go try to hunt down the filing, but if the quote accurately reflects what is in there, then allowing Fiat to take over the company might well be construed as a casus belli by the Italians.

Someone oughta tell these guys that there's only so much one can do with a sow's ear, y'know?

Cheers...
alexpgp: (Default)
Galina really does like her television, but I can do without it, especially first thing in the morning. It does, however, provide some interesting insights from time to time.

Take Good Morning America, for example. The other morning, after the Iowa caucus, I was vaguely aware that their coverage of the Democratic results went on and on, while the time devoted to the Republicans was insignificant in comparison. This morning, at 8 am or so, their report on the New Hampshire primary results consisted of graphics of who won for the Democrats and Republicans, showing percentages, followed by a segment highlighting Hillary's victory in glowing terms, including words from the candidate herself. For the Republicans, aside from the introductory graphic, the McCain result was not deemed worthy of air time.

By the way, did you know that divorce filings go up in January? I didn't, and am thankful to GMA's editorial staff for keeping me informed on this vital subject.

Talk about your slow news day!

* * *
The Postal Service is apparently more efficient here than in other places I've lived. I apparently did post the Netflix envelope with Sanjuro, since I received an email this morning informing me the disk had arrived (and that my queue is empty). Doubtless that means the water bill was sent, too.

* * *
I was in the Barnes & Noble yesterday, not far from the intersection of Old Country Road and Glen Cove Road, when it hit me: Since when have I had the time to sit down and read a book?

And by "read a book," I don't mean my evolved ability to inhale a fiction book in a sitting or two, because fiction can be absorbed passively. What I'm talking about is the act of sitting down and thinking about, evaluating, agreeing and/or disagreeing with the contents of, typically, a nonfiction book.

It's been a long (and likely, too long a) time.

Apropos of which, I intend to stop by the local public library to see if they'll give me a library card. When I did so back in August, I was gently rebuffed as, despite being the offspring of long-time local residents, the library's policy did not allow cards to be issued to nonresidents. I recall thinking, as I left, of how the world had changed since Eric Hoffer's day.

Cheers...

Profile

alexpgp: (Default)
alexpgp

January 2018

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3456
7 8910111213
14 15 16 17181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios